

# GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND MEETING MINUTES July 29<sup>th</sup> 2015

The Hotel Woodbridge Iselin, NJ Room 203 - at 11:00am

# MEETING OF THE GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:14 AM.

#### OPEN PUBLIC MEETING ACT STATEMENT READ INTO RECORD

• MEETING OF BOARD OF FUND COMMISSIONERS CALLED TO ORDER

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

# **ROLL CALL OF FUND COMMISSIONERS:**

Jim Rodino

Chris Reid - Absent

Barbara Russo

Ted Ehrenburg

Fred Arnold

Michael King - Absent

Eric Shubiger - Absent

Tim Dacey

Hillary Hyser

Theresa Casagrande

Eleanor McGovern

Peter Valesi

Joseph B. Bellina

John DiStefano

Edward Forte - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski

Joan Hullings

Quentin Wiest - Absent

Louis Palazzo - Absent

Michael Martello

Laura Reinertsen

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

**Russ Jones** 

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn

Frank Mason

Doug Marvin

Paula Cozzarelli

Frank Ruggiero



John Waryas – Absent Karen Caulfield Mark Krane Mike Matheis – Absent

# APPROVAL OF MINUTES

#### MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES OF 6/24/15 MEETING

**MOTION:** Commr. Bellina **SECOND:** Commr. Valesi

ABSTAIN: Commr. Rodino; Russo; Hyser; Arnold; Zarbetski;

#### • ADOPTION OF RESOLUTIONS

#### • MOTION TO ADOPT RESOLUTIONS

- Resolution 21-15 Approving Certain Disbursements totaling \$\$5,569,584.02
- Resolution 22-15 Approving Claims Payments totaling \$1,159,660

**MOTION:** Commr. Ehrenberg **SECOND:** Commr. Marvin

### **VOTE: ROLL CALL**

Jim Rodino

Chris Reid - Absent

Barbara Russo

Ted Ehrenburg

Fred Arnold

Michael King - Absent

Eric Shubiger - Absent

Tim Dacey

Hillary Hyser

Theresa Casagrande

Eleanor McGovern

Peter Valesi

Joseph B. Bellina

John DiStefano

Edward Forte - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski

Joan Hullings

Quentin Wiest - Absent

Louis Palazzo - Absent

Michael Martello

Laura Reinertsen

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis



**Russ Jones** 

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn

Frank Mason

Doug Marvin

Paula Cozzarelli

Frank Ruggiero

John Waryas – Absent

Karen Caulfield

Mark Krane

Mike Matheis – Absent

# • Resolution 23-15 – Establishing a Supplemental Assessment/Dividend Plan

MOTION: Commr. Krane

**SECOND**: Commr. Casagrande

# - The Final Vote was - 25Yea /2 Nay

#### **VOTE**: ROLL CALL

Jim Rodino

Chris Reid - Absent

Barbara Russo

Ted Ehrenburg

Fred Arnold

Michael King - Absent

Eric Shubiger - Absent

Tim Dacey

Hillary Hyser

Theresa Casagrande

Eleanor McGovern

Peter Valesi

Joseph B. Bellina

John DiStefano

Edward Forte - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski

Joan Hullings

Quentin Wiest - Absent

Louis Palazzo - Absent

Michael Martello

Laura Reinertsen

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

**Russ Jones** 

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn

Frank Mason



Doug Marvin
Paula Cozzarelli
Frank Ruggiero
John Waryas – Absent
Karen Caulfield
Mark Krane
Mike Matheis – Absent

#### **REPORTS**

# **Executive Director – NIP Group - E. Miller**

- NIPMS Management Transition (EM/JH) Executive Director Position Mr. Miller announced that effective August 1, 2015, Mr. Hall will be assuming the role of Executive Director. Commissioner Krane extended his thanks for Mr. Miller's service on Warren Township's behalf. Chairman Rodino extended thanks and appreciation on behalf of the Fund to Mr. Miller for his contributions and service.
- Fast Track Report Mr. Hall discussed the May 2015 Fast Track. The June Fast Track will be released when the Mid-Year Actuarial Study is complete.
- Underwriting Anthony Amadeo
- New Website Launch Website launched a week and a half ago. It is to be used to update and maintain all of your exposures.
- **Renewal Package** Package was sent to risk managers a week and a half ago. We are looking for completed renewal packages returned in four weeks, which is 8/14/15. Request for loss information was sent the end of June and also needs to be provided no later than 8/14/15.
- Travelers ITV Project Requests were sent out two weeks ago to certain risk managers on specific properties that Travelers believes are significantly under reported. These updated values must be provided to Travelers as soon as possible and a follow up request will go out in a week.

# Wellness, Safety and EPL Training – A. Ven Graitis – Wellness

- **Stewardship Reports** Final data is being formatted for the reports and all should be distributed in the next two weeks. Risk Control personnel will review each report at each member's upcoming Safety Committee Meetings.
- **Police TACT Training** Three successful sessions have been provided in Parsippany, Lawrence and Rahway. Three additional sessions will be scheduled for the fall of 2015 and into 2016.
- Supervisory Training Frank Viscuso has provided supervisor training to employees attending the DPW roundtable and the Fire Roundtable. Police Supervisor Training is being scheduled with Connell Consulting for the 3rd and 4th quarters of 2015.



- **EPL Audits** We are currently in discussions with the EANJ to perform EPL audits of member files to ensure best practices are being followed. Additional information will be provided in the future.
- Treasurer's Report *Patrick DeBlasio* Mr. DeBlasio reviewed the monthly treasurer's report and cash management account and advised that the Fund has met all outstanding obligations and its financial position is secure.

MOTION TO ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION, NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT, N.J.S.A. 10:4-12(B), TO DISCUSS PENDING OR ANTICIPATED LITIGATION (CLAIMS)

#### MOTION TO ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION TO DISCUSS CLAIMS

MOTION: Commr. Ehrenberg
SECOND: Commr. Dacey
VOTE: Unanimous

# ADJOURN TO PUBLIC SESSION

**MOTION:** Commr. Casagrande

**SECOND:** Marvin **VOTE:** Unanimous

# MOTION TO APPROVE CLAIMS

**MOTION:** Commr. Ehrenberg **SECOND:** Commr. Valesi

**Claims: July** 

Township of Hamilton Lia. Claim - Granted Settlement Authority Township o West Orange WC Claim - Granted Settlement Authority Ewing Township WC Claim - Granted Settlement Authority

MOTION: Commr. Dacey SECOND: Commr. Guarino

**VOTE: ROLL CALL** 

Jim Rodino Chris Reid - Absent Barbara Russo Ted Ehrenburg Fred Arnold Michael King - Absent Eric Shubiger - Absent



Tim Dacey Hillary Hyser Theresa Casagrande Eleanor McGovern Peter Valesi Joseph B. Bellina John DiStefano

Edward Forte - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski

Joan Hullings

Quentin Wiest - Absent

Louis Palazzo - Absent

Michael Martello

Laura Reinertsen

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

**Russ Jones** 

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn

Frank Mason

Doug Marvin

Paula Cozzarelli

Frank Ruggiero

John Waryas – Absent

Karen Caulfield

Mark Krane

Mike Matheis – Absent

#### **NEW BUSINESS**

# **OPEN FORUM**

# MOTION TO ADJOURN

Commissioner Rodino made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:53AM and Commissioner Marvin seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by J. Hall.		
	Jonathan Hall	
	Iames Rodino	

#### **ALSO PRESENT:**



Earl Miller - NIP

Madeline Delgado – NIP

David Springer - NIP

Robert Persico - NIP

Jonathan Hall - NIP

Anthony Ven Graitis – NIP

Conrad Cyriax - NIP

Robert Smith - NIP

Wendy Wiebalk - NIP

Steve Edwards - BGIA

George Crosby - BGIA

Brian Erlandsen – BGIA

Anthony Amadeo - NIP

David Balken – Balken Risk

Jeremy Solomon – Bob Smith & Associates

Alex Benzell – Warren Township

Mike Lovett – Warren Township

Ed Vath – PMA

David Weightman – PMAMC

Ken Child – PMAMC

Gregory Whitehead – Lawrence Township

Matthew Struck - Brown & Brown

Sarah Regnault – Brown & Brown

Ilene Laursen – Conner Strong

Tom Fitzpatrick – Fairview Insurance

Ray Vaughn – Amalgamated

Matthew Morris - AGA

Latmya Brennan – Gallagher, O'Gorman & Young

Lou Beckerman – Beckerman & Co.

Mike Galiguiro – Guttenberg

John DiiStefano – Guttenberg

Sonia Brown – North Brunswick