

GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND MEETING MINUTES April 27th 2016

The Hotel Woodbridge Iselin, NJ Room - Room 203 at 11:00am

MEETING OF THE GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:04 AM.

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING ACT STATEMENT READ INTO RECORD

MEETING OF BOARD OF FUND COMMISSIONERS CALLED TO ORDER

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

SWEARING IN OF FUND COMISSIONERS:

o Township of Howell – Paul Bodine

ROLL CALL OF FUND COMMISSIONERS:

Jim Rodino

Mark Vannella

Barbara Russo

Matthew Watkins

Lisa O'Neill

Michael King - Absent

Eric Shubiger – Absent

Tim Dacey

Hilary Hyser - Absent

Teresa Casagrande

Fred Tompkins

Joseph Bellina

Gerald Drasheff - Absent

Jack Merryfield - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski - Absent

Shayne SantaLucia

Quentin Wiest - Absent

Louis Palazzo

Michael Martello

Laura Reinertsen

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

Russ Jones

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn



Frank Mason
Doug Marvin
Sonya Brown
Robert Pittfield - Absent
Ann Cucci - Absent
Frank Ruggiero - Absent
Barry Lewis
John Waryas
Karen Caulfield
Mark Krane
Jack Sayers - Absent

APPROVAL OF MINUTES UPDTE

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES OF 3/23/16 MEETING

MOTION: Commr. Jones **SECOND:** Commr. Dacey

ABSTAIN: Commr's. O'Neill; Zarbetski; SantaLucia; Martello

MOTION TO ADOPT RESOLUTIONS

Resolution 14-16 – Approving Certain Disbursements \$430,608.02 Resolution 15-16 – Approving Claims Payments \$1,307,173

MOTION: Commr. Dacey **SECOND:** Commr. Jones

VOTE: Roll Call

Jim Rodino Mark Vannella Barbara Russo Matthew Watkins

Lisa O'Neill

Michael King - Absent Eric Shubiger – Absent

Tim Dacey

Hilary Hyser - Absent

Teresa Casagrande

Fred Tompkins

Joseph Bellina

Gerald Drasheff - Absent Jack Merryfield - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski - Absent



Shayne SantaLucia
Quentin Wiest - Absent

Louis Palazzo

Michael Martello

Laura Reinertsen

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

Russ Jones

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn

Frank Mason

Doug Marvin

Sonya Brown

Robert Pittfield - Absent

Ann Cucci - Absent

Frank Ruggiero - Absent

Barry Lewis

John Waryas

Karen Caulfield

Mark Krane

Jack Sayers - Absent

REPORTS

Executive Director - NIP Group - Jonathan Hall

- Fast Track Report Mr. Hall discussed the March 2016 Fast Track report and reported no meaningful changes since the last report.
- **Financial Disclosures Statements** Mr. Hall reminded Commissioners and Alternate Commissioners that the Financial Disclosure Statements are due no later than April 30, 2016.

Safety Director – Anthony Ven Graitis (NIP Group) and Ken Child (PMA Group)

- Presentation Cyber Security Chris Bauman & Michael Markulee of Harbor
 Technology Group Chris Bauman & Michael Markulec were introduced and discussed cyber
 liability issues affecting municipalities, including recent viruses and malware, including
 Cryptolocker. Some defense strategies were discussed and a sample policy will be made
 available to member municipalities.
- **Distracted Driving Training** –April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month and the Garden State Joint Insurance Fund (GSMIF) is offering free on line Distracted Driver training to all member municipal employees. The training is offered through our insurance partner, Safety National, who has also supported the very successful SERVE (Safety: Emergency Responder Vehicle Education) driver training previously offered to emergency responders of the GSMJIF. The goal is to use all 3,000 seats available to GSMJIF members.



- Police Committee and TACT Training The police committee meeting is set for 5/12 at the Rahway Public Library from 10:00 to 12:00. The member Police Departments and their leadership are invited to share Best Practices for managing the video and the actions and behaviors captured by Body Worn Cameras, and discuss the introduction of Tasers to NJ law enforcement. Dr. John More JD, Response Law/ Cardinal Point Strategies, Captain Jonathan Parham, Linden Police Department, and Sgt. Robert Sanchez, Linden Police Department will present.
- Wellness The CPR challenge is ongoing and well received. Unlike other challenges, there is little information available on utilization but the wellness committee anticipates that over 15 municipalities will take part in this challenge.

CLAIMS REPORT – Conrad Cyriax, James Renner & Robert Persico (NIP Group)

• **Future Presentation Topics** – James Renner indicated that in the upcoming months there will be presentations on topics of interest for members.

TREASURER'S REPORT - Patrick DeBlasio

• Mr. DeBlasio reviewed the monthly treasurer's report and cash management account and advised that the Fund has met all outstanding obligations and its financial position is secure.

MOTION TO ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION, NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT, N.J.S.A. 10:4-12(B), TO DISCUSS PENDING OR ANTICIPATED LITIGATION (CLAIMS)

MOTION TO ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION TO DISCUSS CLAIMS

MOTION: Commr. Casagrande SECOND: Commr. Dacey Unanimous

ADJOURN TO PUBLIC SESSION

MOTION: Commr. Marvin SECOND: Commr. Dacey Unanimous

MOTION TO APPROVE CLAIMS

MOTION: Commr. Tompkins **SECOND:** Commr. Brown

VOTE: Unanimous



Claims:

Englewood LEL Claim - Granted Settlement Authority Township of Howell WC Claim - Granted Settlement Authority Berkeley Township WC Claim - Granted Settlement Authority

VOTE: ROLL CALL:

Jim Rodino

Mark Vannella

Barbara Russo

Matthew Watkins

Lisa O'Neill

Michael King - Absent

Eric Shubiger – Absent

Tim Dacey

Hilary Hyser - Absent

Teresa Casagrande

Fred Tompkins

Joseph Bellina

Gerald Drasheff - Absent

Jack Merryfield - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski - Absent

Shavne SantaLucia

Quentin Wiest - Absent

Louis Palazzo

Michael Martello

Laura Reinertsen

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

D I

Russ Jones

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn

Frank Mason

Doug Marvin

Sonya Brown

Robert Pittfield - Absent

Ann Cucci - Absent

Frank Ruggiero - Absent

Barry Lewis

John Waryas

Karen Caulfield

Mark Krane

Jack Sayers - Absent



NEW BUSINESS

OPEN FORUM

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Commissioner Rodino made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:44AM and Commissioner Dacey seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by J. Hall.		
	Jonathan Hall	
	James Rodino	

ALSO PRESENT:

Jonathan Hall - NIP David Springer - NIP Steve Edwards – BGIA Anthony Ven Graitis - NIP Conrad Cyriax - NIP James Renner - NIP Robert Smith - NIP Brian Erlandsen - BGIA George Crosby – BGIA Michael O'Connell - PQA Patrick DeBlasio - Treasurer Madeline Delgado - NIP Francis Kelly - BGIA Louis Beckerman – Beckerman & Co. Adam Loehner – South Orange Village Renee Nelms – Qual-Lynx John Hanuscin – Fairways Insurance Dominick Cinelli - Brown & Brown Latonya Brennan – AJ Gallagher Gunn Grimstad – Howell Township Jon Cordell – Howell Township Tom Fitzpatrick – Fairview Insurance Luis Alamo – Alamo Insurance Group Vicky Sjuiander – Balken Risk Michael Sabbagh – Richard Knowles Agency



Ed Vath – PMA
Ken Child – PMA
Jeremy Solomon – Bob Smith & Associates
Ilene Laursen – Conner Strong
Michael Markulec – Harbor Technologies
Chris Baumann – Harbor Technology
Bert H. Steinman – Ewing Township
James McManimon – Ewing Township
BettyAnne Stinchcomb – New Providence
John Geaney – Capehart Scatchard