

GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND MEETING MINUTES

December 21st 2016

The Hotel Woodbridge (APA) – 120 Wood Avenue South in Iselin NJ in the Ballroom at 11:00am

MEETING OF THE GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:12 AM.

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING ACT STATEMENT READ INTO RECORD

MEETING OF BOARD OF FUND COMMISSIONERS CALLED TO ORDER

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL OF FUND COMMISSIONERS:

Mark Vannella

Barbara Russo

Matthew Watkins

Paul Carelli - Absent

Michael King - Absent

Eric Shubiger – Absent

Tim Dacey

Joanna Mustafa

Allyson Cinquegrana

Eleanor McGovern

Joseph Bellina

Micgael Calaguiro

Jack Merryfield - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski - Absent

Joan Hullings

Patrick Wherry

Louis Pallazo

Michael Martello - Absent

Laura Reinertsen - Absent

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

Russ Jones

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn

Jillian Barrick - Absent

Doug Marvin

Sonia Brown



Robert Pittfield - Absent Jim Rodino Ann Cucci Frank Ruggiero Barry Lewis - Absent John Waryas Karen Caulfield Mark Krane Jack Sayers - Absent

MOTION TO APPROVE MINUTES OF 11/30/16 MEETING

MOTION: Commr. Watkins **SECOND:** Commr. Pallazzo

ABSTAIN: Commrs. Russo; Mustafa; Bellina; Calaguiro; Hullings; Quinn; Cucci;

Waryas

MOTION TO ADOPT RESOLUTIONS

Resolution 32-16 – Approving Certain Disbursements \$399,855.94 **Resolution 28-16 – Approving Claims Payments** \$2,051,993

MOTION: Commr. Watkins **SECOND:** Commr. Bellina

VOTE: Roll Call

Mark Vannella

Barbara Russo

Matthew Watkins

Paul Carelli - Absent

Michael King - Absent

Eric Shubiger – Absent

Tim Dacey

Joanna Mustafa

Allyson Cinquegrana

Eleanor McGovern

Joseph Bellina

Micgael Calaguiro

Jack Merryfield - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski - Absent

Joan Hullings

Patrick Wherry

Louis Pallazo



Michael Martello - Absent Laura Reinertsen - Absent

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

Russ Jones

Tim Stafford

Tim Quinn

Jillian Barrick - Absent

Doug Marvin

Sonia Brown

Robert Pittfield - Absent

Jim Rodino

Ann Cucci

Frank Ruggiero

Barry Lewis - Absent

John Waryas

Karen Caulfield

Mark Krane

Jack Sayers - Absent

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT – Jonathan Hall – (NIP Group)

- Fast Track Report Mr. Hall presented the Financial Fast Track Report as of November 30, 2016. He advised that there were no material changes from October's report. Mr. Hall also mentioned that the Fast Track Report as of December 30, 2016 will be released to the membership at the March 2017 Fund Meeting, when the Year-End Actuarial Report is completed.
- Final 2017 Assessment Budget Mr. Hall presented the 2017 Assessment Budget to the Commissioners. He advised that the final budget for adoption will be presented at the January 25, 2017 Re-organization Meeting, which will include the final membership for 2017.
- 2017 Service Provider RFPs Mr. Hall reported that the 2017 RFP recommendations will be finalized at the Executive Committee meeting immediately following, with adoption at the 2017 Re-organization Meeting.
- 2017 Indemnity & Trust Agreements Mr. Hall thanked those members that had provided their executed resolutions to rejoin and their Indemnity & Trust Agreements. Any renewing members that have not submitted their documents, please do so as soon as they are executed by your respective governing bodies.
- 2017 Meeting Dates Mr. Hall announced that the schedule for Fund Meetings for 2017 had been distributed to all Commissioners, Alternate Commissioners, and Risk Managers. All meetings at this time will be at The Hotel Woodbridge (APA) in Iselin.

TREASURER'S REPORT – Patrick DeBlasio

o Mr. DeBlasio reviewed the monthly treasurer's report and cash management account and advised that the Fund has met all outstanding obligations and its financial position is secure.



UNDERWRITING REPORT – Robert Smith (NIP Group)

- o **2017 Member Renewals** All Auto ID cards have been issued and insurance renewal summaries should be expected the 2nd week of January.
- 2017 Prospects Mr. Smith reported that we have 2 open proposals for prospects that will be voting either later in December or at their January re-organization meetings. We will provide an update at the January meeting.

SAFETY DIRECTOR – Anthony Ven Graitis (NIP Group) and Ken Child (PMA Group)

- Safety Recap Mr. Ven Graitis provided a recap of the Safety Committee Meeting held prior to the Fund Meeting. Carbon Monoxide and Holiday Hazards were discussed. Bulletins will be distributed to members. In addition, a claim involving a firefighter falling out of a moving fire apparatus was discussed along with hazards associated with TEEX training in Texas. Lastly, members discussed recent safety activities in their municipality and plans for 2017.
- Wellness Awards Wellness Awards. 15 municipalities were awarded \$12,000 in total for their participation in the GSMJIF 2016 Wellness Program. Congratulations for all members who participated.

CLAIMS REPORT – Conrad Cyriax, James Renner & Robert Persico (NIP Group)

o **Key Performance Indicators for the Claims Department for November -** Conrad Cyriax provided the Commissioners with the Claims Report. Key performance indicators of Claims Department activity were discussed including the number of new claims received and the sum of claims closed during the preceding month. Frequency trends affecting the Fund were discussed as well as other critical measurements of Claims Department activity such as closing ratio and recoveries.

MOTION TO ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION, NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT, N.J.S.A. 10:4-12(B), TO DISCUSS PENDING OR ANTICIPATED LITIGATION (CLAIMS)

MOTION TO ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION TO DISCUSS CLAIMS

MOTION: Commr. Watkins SECOND: Commr. Pallazo Unanimous

ADJOURN TO PUBLIC SESSION

MOTION: Commr. Guarino SECOND: Commr. Watkins Unanimous



MOTION TO APPROVE CLAIMS

MOTION: Commr. Watkins **SECOND:** Commr. Pallazo

Claims:

Town of Morristown WC - Granted Settlement Authority
City of Rahway LEL - Granted Settlement Authority
Eastampton WC - Granted Settlement Authority
Township of Maplewood WC - Granted Settlement Authority
Township of Maplewood WC - Granted Settlement Authority

VOTE: ROLL CALL:

Mark Vannella

Barbara Russo

Matthew Watkins

Paul Carelli - Absent

Michael King - Absent

Eric Shubiger – Absent

Tim Dacey

Joanna Mustafa

Allyson Cinquegrana

Eleanor McGovern

Joseph Bellina

Micgael Calaguiro

Jack Merryfield - Absent

Lou Guarino

Paul Zarbetski - Absent

Joan Hullings

Patrick Wherry

Louis Pallazo

Michael Martello - Absent

Laura Reinertsen - Absent

Greg Whitehead

Nancy Koblis

Russ Jones

Tim Stafford

Tim Ouinn

Jillian Barrick - Absent

Doug Marvin

Sonia Brown

Robert Pittfield - Absent

Jim Rodino

Ann Cucci

Frank Ruggiero



Barry Lewis - Absent John Waryas Karen Caulfield Mark Krane Jack Sayers - Absent

NEW BUSINE

OPEN FORUM

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Commissioner Rodino made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 12:08PM and Commissioner Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by M. Del	gado.	
	Madeline Delgado	
	James Rodino	

ALSO PRESENT:

Betty Ann Stinchcomb – New Providence Jonathan Hall - NIP Mike O'Connell - PQA Patrick DeBlasio – Treasurer Brian Erlandsen - BGIA Virginia Murphy – Morris Township Robert Persico - NIP Conrad Cyriax- NIP Anthony Ven Graitis – NIP Davis Springer - NIP Jackie Ortiz – Parsippany-Troy Hills Madeline Delgado – NIP John DiStefano – Guttenberg Rob Smith - NIP James Renner - NIP Renee Nelms – Qual-Lynx Ilene Laursen – Conner Strong Louis Beckerman – Beckerman & Co. Matt Struck – Brown & Brown LaTonya Brennan – AJG Mike Lovett – Warren Township Ken Child – PMA



Earl Miller – Advisor Marc Strauss – PMA Danielle Voda – Fairview Insurance Francis Kelly – BGIA Peter Perla – Jasinski PC Steve Daveggia – NIP Ed Vath – PMA John Geaney – Capehart Scatchard