

GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND MEETING MINUTES March 25th, 2020 Via Skype/Conference dial in 732-694-1222 Passcode 980762

MEETING OF THE GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:07AM.

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING ACT STATEMENT READ INTO RECORD

MEETING OF BOARD OF FUND COMMISSIONERS CALLED TO ORDER

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL OF FUND COMMISSIONERS:

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen – Present J. Camera - Berkeley Township - Present B. Russo - Berkeley Heights - Present M.Watkins - Township of Bloomfield - Present Borough of Caldwell – Absent Cinnaminson Township – Absent K. White - Township of Eastampton – Present D. Trumpet - City of Englewood – Present H. Hyser - Ewing Township - Present Borough of Fanwood – Absent J. Bellina - Freehold Borough - Present C. Cirillo - Town of Guttenberg – Present Borough of Haddon Heights – Absent M. Murranko - Hamilton Township - Present Town of Harrison – Absent T. Jover - Borough of Highland Park – Present J. Allen - City of Hoboken - Present C. Roundtree - Holmdel Township - Present L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present P. Cavalier - Town of Kearny – Present L. Reinsertsen - Borough of Kenilworth - Present K. Nerwinski - Township of Lawrence - Present City of Linden – Absent R. Jones - Township of Livingston – Present A. Weinburg - Monroe Township - Present



Montclair Township – Absent T. Quinn - Township of Morris - Present J. Barrick - Town of Morristown - Present *Township of Neptune – Absent* Borough of New Providence – Present (D. Marvin) – Chairman K. Monzo - Township of North Brunswick - Present Township of North Bergen – Absent Borough of North Plainfield – Absent A. Cucci - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills - Present F. Ruggiero - City of Rahway - Present A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park - Present J. Shepherd - Township of Roxbury - Present Borough of Totowa – Absent Union Township - Present (K. Caulfield) - Secretary Township of Warren - Absent West Orange Township – Absent

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF 2/26/2020 MEETING

MOTION: Commr. Watkins – Twp. of Bloomfield **SECOND:** Commr. Ruggiero – City of Rahway **ABSTAIN:** Commrs. J. Barrick – Town of Morristown

ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION TO DISCUSS CLAIMS COMMITTEE REPORT

In accordance with Section 8 of the Open Public Meetings Act, the public body is in Executive Session, as follows:

- 1. The Public shall be excluded from discussion of and action upon the hereinafter specified subject matters.
- 2. The general nature of the subject matter to be discussed is as follows:
 - Claims Requests for Settlement Authority

MOTION TO ADJOURN TO EXECUTIVE SESSION TO DISCUSS CLAIMS

MOTION:	Commr. M. Watkins – Twp. of Bloomfield
SECOND:	Commr. R. Jones – Twp. of Livingston
VOTE:	Unanimous, by voice

APPROVAL OF REQUESTS FOR SETTLEMENT AUTHORITY AND ADOPTION OF RESOLUTIONS

o Approval of Claims Committee Report and Requests for Settlement Authority



- Howell Township LEL/BI Claim Granted Settlement Authority
- Township of Ewing WC Claim– Granted Settlement Authority
- Town of Morristown WC Claim Granted Settlement Authority
- Township of Hamilton LEL/PI Claim Granted Settlement Authority
- Howell Township WC Claim Granted Settlement Authority
- Borough of Highland Park WC Claim Granted Settlement Authority
- Township of Hamilton LEL Claim Granted Settlement Authority

ADJOURN TO PUBLIC SESSION

MOTION:	Commr. Jones
SECOND:	Commr. Watkins
VOTE:	Unanimous, by voice

MOTION TO ADOPT RESOLUTIONS & CLAIMS REPORT

- Resolution 15-20 Approving Certain Disbursements \$383,478.78
- Resolution 16-20 Approving Claims Payments \$1,779,266
- Resolution 17-20 Appointing Approved Counsel Leitner, Tort, DeFazio & Brause
- o 44 Fernwood Avenue, Edison, NJ 08837
- Approving Claims Committee Report and Requests for Settlement Authority
- o Approval of Claims Committee Report and Requests for Settlement

VOTE: ROLL CALL

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen - Present J. Camera - Berkeley Township - Present B. Russo - Berkeley Heights - Present M.Watkins - Township of Bloomfield - Present Borough of Caldwell – Absent Cinnaminson Township - Absent K. White - Township of Eastampton - Present D. Trumpet - City of Englewood - Present H. Hyser - Ewing Township - Present Borough of Fanwood - Absent J. Bellina - Freehold Borough – Present C. Cirillo - Town of Guttenberg – Present Borough of Haddon Heights – Absent M. Murranko - Hamilton Township - Present Town of Harrison – Absent T. Jover - Borough of Highland Park - Present J. Allen - City of Hoboken - Present C. Roundtree - Holmdel Township - Present L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present P. Cavalier - Town of Kearny - Present



L. Reinsertsen - Borough of Kenilworth - Present K. Nerwinski - Township of Lawrence - Present City of Linden – Absent R. Jones - Township of Livingston - Present A. Weinburg - Monroe Township - Present Montclair Township - Absent T. Quinn - Township of Morris - Present J. Barrick - Town of Morristown - Present Township of Neptune - Absent Borough of New Providence - Present (D. Marvin) - Chairman K. Monzo - Township of North Brunswick - Present Township of North Bergen - Absent Borough of North Plainfield - Absent A. Cucci - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills - Present F. Ruggiero - City of Rahway - Present A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park - Present J. Shepherd - Township of Roxbury - Present Borough of Totowa - Absent Union Township – Present (K. Caulfield) – Secretary Township of Warren – Absent West Orange Township – Absent

NEW BUSINESS

OPEN FORUM

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Commissioner Jones made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 12:02pm and Chairman Marvin seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by M. Delgado

M. Delgado

J. Hall



ALSO, PRESENT: Confirmed by acceptance to meeting invitation.

Jonathan Hall - NIP Madeline Delgado - NIP Rob Smith - NIP Robert Persico – NIP James Renner - NIP Anthony VenGraitis – NIP Conrad Cyriax - NIP Frank Kelly – BGIA Steve Edwards - BGIA Dom Cinelli – B & B Stephanie Oppengaard - Neptune Greg Whitehead – Lawrence Emma Missey – Highland Park Jacklyn Struble - Aberdeen John Gross - West Orange Karin Napier Keith Kazmark -Michael Bascom – Neptune Paula Cavalier - Kearny Sonia Brown – North Brunswick Barry Maurillo – IMAC Danielle Colianni – Harenberg Danielle Voda – Fairview David Balken – Balken Risk Doug Borden – Borden Diana Pursell - Borden Ilene Laursen – Conner Strong Joe Mauillo – IMAC Luis Alamo – Alamo Insurance Michael Sabbagh – Richland Knowles Peter Sorierro – Allied Risk Reynoso Sanders – Strategic Tom Narolewski - AJM Jeremy Solomon – Bob Smith LaTonya Brennan – Gallagher Renee Nelms – Qual-Lynx Lindsey Gelormini - NIP Lisa Gallo - Qual-Lynx Joseph Brown – NIP Tenisha Smith-NIP Donna Gartland – NIP



Michael Griffith – NIP Keith Skeba – NIP Steve Daveggia – NIP David Springer – NIP Ken Child - PMA Ed Vath – PMA Patrick DeBlasio – Treasurer Brian Erlandsen – BGIA