

GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND MEETING MINUTES June 24th, 2020 ViaGoToWebinar/Conference dial in 732-694-1222 Passcode 980762

MEETING OF THE GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:03AM.

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING ACT STATEMENT READ INTO RECORD

MEETING OF BOARD OF FUND COMMISSIONERS CALLED TO ORDER

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL OF FUND COMMISSIONERS:

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen – Present Berkeley Township – Absent Berkeley Heights – Absent M. Watkins - Township of Bloomfield - Present Brittany Heun - Borough of Caldwell - Present Cinnaminson Township – Absent K. White - Township of Eastampton - Present D. Trumpet - City of Englewood – Present Ewing Township - Absent Borough of Fanwood - Absent J. Bellina - Freehold Borough - Absent C. Cirillo - Town of Guttenberg – Present Borough of Haddon Heights - Absent M. Murranko - Hamilton Township - Present Town of Harrison – Absent Teri Jover - Borough of Highland Park – Present M. Kraus - City of Hoboken - Present Holmdel Township - Absent L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present Town of Kearny – Absent Borough of Kenilworth – Absent G. Whitehead - Township of Lawrence - Present Nancy Koblis - City of Linden – Present R. Jones - Township of Livingston - Present



D. Racioppi - Monroe Township - Present T. Stafford - Montclair Township - Present T. Quinn - Township of Morris – Present J. Barrick - Town of Morristown - Present Township of Neptune – Absent Borough of New Providence – Present (D. Marvin) – Chairman S. Brown - Township of North Brunswick – Present Township of North Bergen – Absent William Speck - Borough of North Plainfield - Present K. Kazmark - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills - Present F. Ruggiero - City of Rahway – Present A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park - Present Township of Roxbury – Absent Borough of Totowa – Absent Union Township - Present (K. Caulfield) - Secretary Township of Warren – Absent West Orange Township - Absent

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF 5/20/2020 MEETING

MOTION: Commr. F. Ruggiero, City of Rahway SECOND: Commr. T. Quinn Marvin, Township of Morris ABSTAIN: Commrs. Hullings; Cirillo; Allen; Barrick; Jover; Stafford; Heun

MOTION TO ADOPT RESOLUTIONS

- Resolution 24-20 Approving Certain Disbursements \$382,718.59
- Resolution 25-20 Approving Claims Payments \$2,223,630
- **Resolution 26-20 Appointing Approved Counsel -** Douglas A. Stevinson, Esq. Windels Marx Lane & Mittendorf, LLP for Hoboken

VOTE: ROLL CALL

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen – Present
Berkeley Township – Absent
Berkeley Heights – Absent
M. Watkins - Township of Bloomfield – Present
Brittany Heun - Borough of Caldwell – Present
Cinnaminson Township – Absent
K. White - Township of Eastampton – Present
D. Trumpet - City of Englewood – Present
Ewing Township – Absent
Borough of Fanwood – Absent
J. Bellina - Freehold Borough – Absent



C. Cirillo - Town of Guttenberg – Present Borough of Haddon Heights - Absent M. Murranko - Hamilton Township - Present Town of Harrison - Absent Teri Jover - Borough of Highland Park – Present M. Kraus - City of Hoboken - Present Holmdel Township - Absent L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present Town of Kearny – Absent Borough of Kenilworth - Absent G. Whitehead - Township of Lawrence - Present Nancy Koblis - City of Linden - Present R. Jones - Township of Livingston – Present D. Racioppi - Monroe Township - Present T. Stafford - Montclair Township - Present T. Quinn - Township of Morris - Present J. Barrick - Town of Morristown – Present Township of Neptune – Absent Borough of New Providence – Present (D. Marvin) – Chairman S. Brown - Township of North Brunswick - Present Township of North Bergen – Absent William Speck - Borough of North Plainfield - Present K. Kazmark - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills – Present F. Ruggiero - City of Rahway - Present A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park – Present Township of Roxbury – Absent Borough of Totowa – Absent Union Township – Present (K. Caulfield) – Secretary Township of Warren - Absent West Orange Township – Absent

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR – Jonathan Hall (NIP Management)

- 22020 Year-End Financial Audit Presentation (Mercadien, P.C.) Digesh Patel and Matthew Daly of Mercadien PC presented the results of the GSMJIF 2019 Financial Audit. They noted there were no findings or recommendations.
- **Fast Track Report** Mr. Hall presented the Fast Track Report as of May 31. There were no questions.
- Treasury Report All bills have been paid and the Fund's cash balance is secure.
- 2021 Member Renewals Mr. Hall reminded the members that the renewal cycle for 2021 has begun. All Loss Runs must be received no later than July 17. Exposure schedules and applications must be submitted online no later than August 7.
- **Police Professional Training** Mr. Hall presented a list of courses available on-line and inperson.



- **COVID-19 Reopening Guidance** Mr. Hall discussed the Governor's June 1 announcement of Stage Two reopening.
- **Summer Camps and Pools** Mr. Hall reminded members of the e-mail guidance regarding Summer Camps and Pools provided on June 12.
- **Outdoor Sports Facilities -** Mr. Hall reminded members of the e-mail guidance regarding the resumption of sporting activities provided on June 17.
- Driving Alert Mr. Hall discussed recent careless driving trends in the general public during the lockdown and reminded members to be diligent and careful when driving. Mr. Hall also reminded members of the driver training that is available.
- **Claims Report** Mr. Hall presented the claims report and key performance indicators as of May 31. There were no questions.
- **OPRA Requests** Mr. Hall reminded members to provide responses to requestors in a timely manner. Please forward insurance and claims-related requests to NIP Management Services.
- 0

NEW BUSINESS

OPEN FORUM

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Commissioner Quinn made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 12:04pm and Chairman Marvin seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by M. Delgado

M. Delgado

J. Hall

ALSO, PRESENT: Confirmed by GoToWebinar date & time of attendance

Madeline Delgado - NIP Thomas Stenberg – Assurance Lindsay Travali – Reliance Conrad Cyriax – NIP Management Kevin Larkin – BGIA Virginia Murphy – Morris Twp. Amy Pieroni – Acrisure Kathleen Guze – D & H Lisa Gallo – Qual-Lynx



Robin Racioppi – NAIMC Renee Nelms - Qual-Lynx Patrick DBlasio – Treasurer Ed Vath - PMA John Hanuscin – Fairways Anthony VenGraitis - NIP Michael Sabbagh - Richland Knowles Sheryl Stanley – Dittmar Joseph Brown - NIP Peter Soriero - Allied Rob Smith - NIP Ken Child - PMA Danielle Colaianni – Hardenberg Robert Persico - NIP Diana Pursell – Borden Perlman Frank Kelly – BGIA Danielle Voda- Fairview Dom Cinelli – Brown & Brown Doug Borden – Borden Jeremy Solomon - Bob Smith Michael O'Connell – PQA Digesh Patel - Mercadien David Balken – Balken Risk Brian Erlandsen- BGIA Jim Renner - NIP Anthony Aquino – PMA Mary Foulks - NIP Ilene Lauresen – Conner Strong Kathleen Guze – Risk Solutions Emma Missey – Highland Park Keith Skeba - NIP Jonathan Hall – NIP Group Suzanne Rajsteter – First MCO