

# GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND MEETING MINUTES May 20<sup>th</sup>, 2020 ViaGoToWebinar/Conference dial in 732-694-1222 Passcode 980762

# MEETING OF THE GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:02AM.

# OPEN PUBLIC MEETING ACT STATEMENT READ INTO RECORD

#### MEETING OF BOARD OF FUND COMMISSIONERS CALLED TO ORDER

#### PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

#### **ROLL CALL OF FUND COMMISSIONERS:**

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen - Present Berkeley Township - Absent B. Russo - Berkeley Heights - Present M. Watkins - Township of Bloomfield - Present Borough of Caldwell - Absent Cinnaminson Township - Absent K. White - Township of Eastampton - Present City of Englewood – Present **Ewing Township – Absent** Borough of Fanwood – Absent J. Bellina - Freehold Borough – Absent Town of Guttenberg - Absent Borough of Haddon Heights - Absent M. Murranko - Hamilton Township - Present Paul Zarbetski - Town of Harrison - Present Teri Jover - Borough of Highland Park – Present City of Hoboken – Absent Holmdel Township - Absent L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present Paula Cavalier - Town of Kearny - Present Laura Reinertsen - Borough of Kenilworth - Present K. Nerwinski - Township of Lawrence - Present Nancy Koblis - City of Linden - Present R. Jones - Township of Livingston - Present



D. Racioppi - Monroe Township - Present Montclair Township - Absent T. Quinn - Township of Morris – Present Town of Morristown – Absent Stephanie Oppegaard - Township of Neptune - Present Borough of New Providence - Present (D. Marvin) - Chairman K. Monzo - Township of North Brunswick - Present Township of North Bergen – Absent William Speck - Borough of North Plainfield – Present A. Cucci - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills - Present F. Ruggiero - City of Rahway – Present A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park - Present J. Shepherd - Township of Roxbury - Present John Waryas - Borough of Totowa - Present Union Township - Present (K. Caulfield) - Secretary Township of Warren – Absent West Orange Township – Absent

# **APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF 4/22/2020 MEETING**

MOTION: Commr. White – Eastampton Township SECOND: Commr. Marvin – Borough of New Providence ABSTAIN: Commrs. Zarbetski; Jover; Cavalier; Reinertsen; Koblis; Speck

#### MOTION TO ADOPT RESOLUTIONS

- **Resolution 21-20** Approving Certain Disbursements \$213,059.42
- Resolution 22-20 Approving Claims Payments \$2,830,386
- Resolution 23-20 Appointing Approved Counsel Marquerite M. Schaffer, Esq. of Shain Schaffer – for Fanwood
- o Approving Claims Committee Report and Requests for Settlement Authority

#### **VOTE: ROLL CALL**

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen – Present
Berkeley Township – Absent
B. Russo - Berkeley Heights – Present
M. Watkins - Township of Bloomfield – Present
Borough of Caldwell – Absent
Cinnaminson Township – Absent
K. White - Township of Eastampton – Present
City of Englewood – Present
Ewing Township – Absent
Borough of Fanwood – Absent
J. Bellina - Freehold Borough – Absent



Town of Guttenberg – Absent Borough of Haddon Heights – Absent M. Murranko - Hamilton Township – Present Paul Zarbetski - Town of Harrison - Present Teri Jover - Borough of Highland Park – Present City of Hoboken - Absent Holmdel Township – Absent L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present Paula Cavalier - Town of Kearny - Present Laura Reinertsen - Borough of Kenilworth - Present K. Nerwinski - Township of Lawrence - Present Nancy Koblis - City of Linden - Present R. Jones - Township of Livingston – Present D. Racioppi - Monroe Township - Present Montclair Township – Absent T. Quinn - Township of Morris - Present Town of Morristown - Absent Stephanie Oppegaard - Township of Neptune - Present Borough of New Providence – Present (D. Marvin) – Chairman K. Monzo - Township of North Brunswick - Present Township of North Bergen – Absent William Speck - Borough of North Plainfield - Present A. Cucci - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills – Present F. Ruggiero - City of Rahway - Present A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park - Present J. Shepherd - Township of Roxbury - Present John Waryas - Borough of Totowa - Present Union Township – Present (K. Caulfield) – Secretary Township of Warren – Absent West Orange Township - Absent

# **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR – Jonathan Hall (NIP Management)**

- 2019 Year-End Actuarial Report and Comments Mr. Hall provided an overview of the 2019 Year-End Actuarial Report and discussed changes in ultimate losses by year and by line of coverage. The Administrator will share further insights and any recommendations at the June Commissioners meeting.
- **Fast Track Reports -** The 2019 Financial Audit is underway. Once completed, the Fund will share the Fast Track Reports with all members.
- **Treasurer's Report -** Mr. Hall reported that all bills have been paid and the Fund's cash balance is secure.
- HVAC Bulletin Mr. Hall and Mr. Ven Graitis shared the statements from The American Society for Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Epidemic Task Force pertaining the HVAC systems.



- COVID-19 PEOSH Reporting Mr. Hall and Mr. Ven Graitis reminded the members of OSHA guidance regarding recordkeeping requirements for COVID-19 claims. Also discussed was OSHA's guidance regarding the prioritization of laboratory COVID-19 testing.
- **Planning for Reopening Facilities** The Fund, in conjunction with PMA Companies, will be hosting a webinar for member municipalities on Thursday, May 28.
- Monthly Claims Department Key Performance Indicators for April 2020 Mr. Hall shared the 1st Quarter claims KPIs and metrics for new claims, closures, and reserve reductions.
- **COVID-19 Claims -** Mr. Hall shared the statistics on COVID-19 claims received by the Fund as of April 30, 2020.
- **COVID-19 Impact on Judicial System -** Mr. Hall explained the recent delays experienced in the NJ court system due to the Coronavirus lockdown and strategies the Fund is undertaking to secure favorable outcomes on claims.

# NEW BUSINESS

# **OPEN FORUM**

# MOTION TO ADJOURN

Executive Director Hall made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:46am and Chairman Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by M. Delgado

M. Delgado

J. Hall

ALSO, PRESENT: Confirmed by GoToWebinar date & time of attendance

Michael Sabbagh – Richland Knowles Ken Child – PMA Anthony VenGraitis – NIP Kathleen Guze – D & H Peter Soriero - Allied David Balken – Balken Risk Michael O'Connell – PQA Robert Persico – NIP Frank Kelly – BGIA Brian Erlandsen – BGIA Ilene Laursen – Conner Strong



Patrick DeBlasio - Treasurer Colleen Mahr -Lisa Gallo – QL Patrick Makin – PMA Karin Napier – Rahway Lindsay Travali – Reliance Karen waters - IMAC Danielle Colaianni – Hardenberg David Springer - NIP Adam Becker - Brown & Brown Madeline Delgado - NIP Keith Skeba - NIP Jim Renner - NIP Kathy Boffa – Livingston Renee Nelms – QL Joe Razzano – Fairview Amy Pieroni – Reliance Lori Sullivan – Warren twp. Thomas Stenberg – Assurance Joseph Brown - NIP Robin Racioppi – NAIMC Thomas Narolewski – Assured Partners Danielle Voda – Fairview Virginia Murphy – Morris David Weightman - PMA