

GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND MEETING MINUTES

September 23rd, 2020

ViaGoToWebinar/Conference dial in 732-694-1222 Passcode 980762

MEETING OF THE GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:03AM.

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING ACT STATEMENT READ INTO RECORD

MEETING OF BOARD OF FUND COMMISSIONERS CALLED TO ORDER

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

ROLL CALL OF FUND COMMISSIONERS:

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen – Present

Berkeley Township – Absent

B. Russo - Berkeley Heights - Present

M. Watkins - Township of Bloomfield - Present

Borough of Caldwell - Absent

Cinnaminson Township – Absent

Township of Eastampton – Absent

D. Trumpet - City of Englewood - Present

Ewing Township – Absent

Borough of Fanwood - Absent

Freehold Borough - Absent

C. Cirillo - Town of Guttenberg - Present

Borough of Haddon Heights – Absent

M. Murranko - Hamilton Township - Present

Town of Harrison – Absent

Emma Missey - Borough of Highland Park - Present

Michael Kraus - City of Hoboken - Present

Denise Callery - Holmdel Township - Present

L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present

Stephen Marks - Town of Kearny – Present

L. Reinersten - Borough of Kenilworth - Present

G. Whitehead - Township of Lawrence - Present

Nancy Koblis - City of Linden - Present

R. Jones - Township of Livingston - Present



D. Racioppi - Monroe Township - Present

Montclair Township – Absent

T. Quinn - Township of Morris - Present

J. Barrick - Town of Morristown - Present

S. Oppegaard - Township of Neptune - Present

Borough of New Providence – Present (D. Marvin) – Chairman

J. Progebin - Township of North Brunswick – Present

Township of North Bergen – Absent

William Speck - Borough of North Plainfield - Present

F. Carr - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills – Present

Karin Napier- City of Rahway – Present

A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park – Present

Township of Roxbury – Absent

J. Waryas - Borough of Totowa - Present

Union Township – Present (K. Caulfield) – Secretary

M. Krane - Township of Warren - Present

West Orange Township – Absent

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF 7/22/2020 MEETING

MOTION: Commr. D. Trumpet - City of Englewood **SECOND:** Commr. M. Bascom, Neptune Township

ABSTAIN: Commrs. Missey; Kraus; Palazzo; Racioppi; Carr; Krane

MOTION TO ADOPT RESOLUTIONS

- o Resolution 30-20 Approving Certain Disbursements \$1,411,438.45
- Resolution 31-20 Approving Claims Payments \$5,242,511 (July & August)
- o Resolution 32-20 Appointing Approved Counsel
 - Law offices of Casha & Casha, LLC for Borough of New Providence
 - Law offices of Hatfield Schwartz LLC for Township of Morris
 - Law Offices of Netchert Dineen & Hillman for Township of North Bergen

VOTE: ROLL CALL

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen – Present

Berkeley Township – Absent

B. Russo - Berkeley Heights - Present

M. Watkins - Township of Bloomfield – Present

Borough of Caldwell – Absent

Cinnaminson Township – Absent

Township of Eastampton – Absent



D. Trumpet - City of Englewood – Present

Ewing Township – Absent

Borough of Fanwood – Absent

Freehold Borough – Absent

C. Cirillo - Town of Guttenberg – Present

Borough of Haddon Heights – Absent

M. Murranko - Hamilton Township – Present

Town of Harrison – Absent

Emma Missey - Borough of Highland Park - Present

Michael Kraus - City of Hoboken - Present

Denise Callery - Holmdel Township - Present

L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present

Stephen Marks - Town of Kearny - Present

L. Reinersten - Borough of Kenilworth - Present

G. Whitehead - Township of Lawrence – Present

Nancy Koblis - City of Linden - Present

R. Jones - Township of Livingston – Present

D. Racioppi - Monroe Township - Present

Montclair Township – Absent

T. Quinn - Township of Morris - Present

J. Barrick - Town of Morristown - Present

S. Oppegaard - Township of Neptune - Present

Borough of New Providence – Present (D. Marvin) – Chairman

J. Progebin - Township of North Brunswick – Present

Township of North Bergen – Absent

William Speck - Borough of North Plainfield – Present

F. Carr - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills – Present

Karin Napier - City of Rahway – Present

A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park – Present

Township of Roxbury – Absent

J. Waryas - Borough of Totowa - Present

Union Township – Present (K. Caulfield) – Secretary

M. Krane - Township of Warren - Present

West Orange Township – Absent

• EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR – Jonathan Hall (NIP Management)

- Mid-Year Actuarial Report and Fast Track Status Update The Administrator's office has received the second draft of the mid-year actuarial reserve analysis. We anticipate finalizing the analysis before the next meeting. We will update the Fast Track Reports for June 2020 and following once the Reserve Study has been finalized.
- o **Treasurer's Report** All Bills have been paid and our cash balance is secure.
- 2021 Requests for Proposals / Qualifications The Funds has requested proposals and qualifications for the 2021 Fund Year. All proposals must be submitted by 10:00 AM October 13th, 2020.



- COVID-19 Relief Data Request Underwriting Bulletin sent out on August 12, 2020 to all Fund Commissioners and Risk Managers. The revised deadline for receipt of this information is September 30, 2020.
- Member Renewal Applications Needed The Fund is requesting all Members to submit renewal applications as soon as practicable. Coverage for Cyber Liability, Unmanned Aerial Systems and Pollution cannot be bound without updated applications.
- o **2021 Excess Insurance Renewal Update -** We have successfully submitted our renewal data to our excess partners. We are expecting initial indications on or around September 30
- **Cyber Training** The Fund sent out a Risk Control Bulletin on September 21 outlining the risks of cyber-attacks. Online training is available through the GSMJIF Vault.
- Hurricane Preparedness and Emergency Response The Fund shared tips and preparedness steps for Hurricane and Emergency planning. A Risk Control Bulletin will be sent out to all members
- EANJ Municipal HR Law Upcoming Seminars The Municipal HR Law Webinar will be held on October 21, October 28 and November 4. The cost to attend is \$400 per attendee and HRCI credits will be offered.
- Legislative Update Mr. Geaney presented an overview of the COVID-19 Essential Workers Law (P.L. 2020 c.84).
- o Claims Monthly KPI Reports The Fund shared the monthly KPI reports for August 2020.

NEW BUSINESS

OPEN FORUM

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Chairman Marks made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:56am and Chairman Quinn seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by M. Delgado	
M. Delgado	
J. Hall	

ALSO, PRESENT: Confirmed by GoToWebinar date & time of attendance

Madeline Delgado - NIP Patrick Makin – PMA David Balken – Balken Risk Anthony Aquino – PMA



 $Michael\ Sabbagh-Richland\ Knowles$

Ed Vath – PMA

Amy Pieroni – Acrisure

Ilene Laursen – Conner Strong

Anthony Ven Graitis – NIP

Brittany Heun – Caldwell

Ron Smith - NIP

Sonia Brown – North Brunswick

Connor Coyle – Risk Solutions

Sheryl Stanley – Dittmar

John Hanuscin – Faairways

Renee Nelms - QualLynx

Brian Erlandsen – BGIA

Michael O'Connell - PQA

Patrick DeBlasio – Treasurer

Danielle Colaianni

Robert Persico - NIP

Conrad Cyriax - NIP

Lindsay Travali – reliance

David Springer - NIP

Kevin Larkin - NIP

Diana Pursell – Borden Perlman

Karen Waters - IMAC

LaTonya Brennan - AJ Gallagher

Joseph Brown - NIP

Thomas Stenberg – Assured

David Weigtman – PMA

Tom Narolweski – Assured

Danielle Voda – Fairview

Jeremy Solomon – Bob Smith & Assoc.

Virginia Muphy – Morris Twp.

Robin Racioppi - NAIMC