

GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND MEETING MINUTES

December 16, 2020

ViaGoToWebinar/Conference dial in 732-694-1222 Passcode 444999

MEETING OF THE GARDEN STATE MUNICIPAL JOINT INSURANCE FUND CALLED TO ORDER AT 11:02am.

OPEN PUBLIC MEETING ACT STATEMENT READ INTO RECORD

MEETING OF BOARD OF FUND COMMISSIONERS CALLED TO ORDER

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

SWEARING IN OF NEW FUND COMMISSIONERS

o Frederick Carr – Township of Parsippany Troy-Hills (Commissioner)

• ROLL CALL OF FUND COMMISSIONERS:

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen - Present

J. Camera - Berkeley Township - Present

Berkeley Heights – Absent

M. Watkins - Township of Bloomfield – Present

Brittany Heun - Borough of Caldwell – Present

Cinnaminson Township – Absent

Township of Eastampton – Absent

D. Trumpet - City of Englewood - Present

Ewing Township – Absent

F. Tomkins - Borough of Fanwood – Present

Freehold Borough – Absent

Town of Guttenberg – Absent

Borough of Haddon Heights – Absent

M. Murranko - Hamilton Township - Present

Town of Harrison – Absent

T. Jover - Borough of Highland Park – Present

City of Hoboken – Absent

Denise Callery - Holmdel Township - Present

L. Palazzo - Howell Township – Present

Stephen Marks - Town of Kearny - Present

L. Reinertsen - Borough of Kenilworth - Present

Township of Lawrence – Absent

Nancy Koblis - City of Linden - Present

R. Jones - Township of Livingston - Present



Monroe Township - Absent

Montclair Township – Absent

T. Quinn - Township of Morris - Present

Town of Morristown – Absent

Township of Neptune – Absent

Borough of New Providence – Present (D. Marvin) – Chairman

J. Progebin - Township of North Brunswick – Present

Township of North Bergen – Absent

W. Speck - Borough of North Plainfield - Present

F. Carr - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills – Absent

Karen Napier - City of Rahway - Present

A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park - Present

Township of Roxbury – Absent

J. Waryas - Borough of Totowa - Present

K. Caulfield - Union Township - Present

Mark Krane – Township of Warren – Present

West Orange Township – Absent

APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF 11/23/2020 MEETING

MOTION: Commr. D. Marvin – Borough of New Providence **SECOND:** Commr. J. Progebin – Twp. of North Brunswick **ABSTAIN:** Commrs. F. Tomkins; T. Jover; W. Speck; F. Carr.

MOTION TO ADOPT RESOLUTIONS

- o Resolution 38-20 Approving Certain Disbursements \$218,360.83
- o Resolution 39-20 Approving Claims Payments \$2,329,938
- Resolution 40-20 Appointing Approved Counsel
 - Law Offices of Iaciofano & Perrone, Esq. for Township of Morris
 - Law Offices of Malamut & Associates, LLC., Attny. Glenn Paulsen for Township of Howell
 - Law Offices of Sobel Han & Cannon Attny. Gregory J. Cannon Esq. for Borough of Freehold

MOTION: Commr. A. Casais – Roselle Park **SECOND:** Commr. S. Marks – Kearny **ABSTAIN:** Commrs. B. Russell – Aberdeen.

VOTE: ROLL CALL

B. Russell - Township of Aberdeen - Present J. Camera - Berkeley Township - Present Berkeley Heights - Absent



M. Watkins - Township of Bloomfield - Present

Brittany Heun - Borough of Caldwell - Present

Cinnaminson Township – Absent

Township of Eastampton – Absent

D. Trumpet - City of Englewood – Present

Ewing Township – Absent

F. Tomkins - Borough of Fanwood – Present

Freehold Borough – Absent

Town of Guttenberg – Absent

Borough of Haddon Heights – Absent

M. Murranko - Hamilton Township – Present

Town of Harrison – Absent

T. Jover - Borough of Highland Park – Present

City of Hoboken – Absent

Denise Callery - Holmdel Township - Present

L. Palazzo - Howell Township - Present

Stepen Marks - Town of Kearny - Present

L. Reinersten - Borough of Kenilworth – Present

Township of Lawrence – Absent

Nancy Koblis - City of Linden - Present

R. Jones - Township of Livingston - Present

Monroe Township – Absent

Montclair Township – Absent

T. Quinn - Township of Morris - Present

Town of Morristown – Absent

Township of Neptune – Absent

Borough of New Providence – Present (D. Marvin) – Chairman

J. Progebin - Township of North Brunswick – Present

Township of North Bergen – Absent

W. Speck - Borough of North Plainfield - Present

F. Carr - Township of Parsippany-Troy Hills – Absent

Karen Napier - City of Rahway – Present

A. Casais - Borough of Roselle Park – Present

Township of Roxbury – Absent

J. Waryas - Borough of Totowa - Present

K. Caulfield - Union Township - Present

Mark Krane – Township of Warren – Present

West Orange Township – Absent

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR – Jonathan Hall (NIP Management)

- o **Fast Track Report -** Mr. Hall presented the Fast Track Report as of October 31, 2020. There were no questions.
- o **2021 Budget** Mr. Hall shared the 2021 Draft Assessment Budget. The Fund has released per-member budget guidance to each member's Risk Management Consultant.



- DOBI Organizational Examination The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance has completed their Organizational Examination of the GSMJIF, with no comments or recommendations. The Fund thanks the Department for their dedication and efforts during the pandemic.
- o **Treasury Report -** All Bills have been paid and our cash balance is secure. There were no questions.
- Last Call for Member Renewal Applications Please submit all outstanding applications, including the Cyber and Crime supplemental questionnaires as soon as possible.
- o **Snow-Plow Rodeo Results** Final results from the 2020 Snowplow Rodeo were shared with the Commissioners. Awards will be mailed to each awarded municipality.
- Safety Incentive Program & Wellness Incentive Program Awards Congratulations
 to the municipalities who have earned Safety Incentive and Wellness Incentive Program
 awards. Awards will be issued in upcoming days.
- Employee Hotline An enhanced 24/7/365 employee hotline will be available to interested members effective January 1. If you are interested in this optional service, please contact your risk control representative.
- o Claims Monthly KPI Reports Mr. Hall shared the Claims Monthly KPI Reports as of November 30. There were no questions.

NEW BUSINESS

OPEN FORUM

MOTION TO ADJOURN

Commissioner Carr made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 11:47am and Commissioner Brown seconded the motion. Motion carried unanimously.

Prepared by M. Delgado	
M. Delgado	
	Hall

ALSO, PRESENT: Confirmed by GoToWebinar date & time of attendance

Madeline Delgado - NIP



Ilene Laursen – Conner Strong

Anthony Aquillino – PMA

Anthony VenGraitis – NIP

Ed Vath – PMA

Ken Child - PMA

Dom Cinelli – Brown & Brown

Patrick DeBlasio – Treasurer

Amy Pieroni – Reliance

Khalid Madin – Parsippany-Troy Hills

David Balken – Balken Risk

Lindsey Travali – Reliance

Peter Soriero – Allied Risk

Patrick Mackin – PMA

Kathleen Guze - D & H

David Hollod - North Plainfield

Joseph Brown - NIP

Michael Sabbagh – Richland Knowles

Allison McLeod - Holmdel

John Hanuscin – Fairways

Renee Nelms – Qual-Lynx

Sonia Brown – North Brunswick

Robert Persico – NIP

Danielle Colaianni - HIG

LaTonya Brennan- AJ Gallagher

Joan Hullings - Highland Park

Lisa Gallo – Qual-Lynx

Sheryl Stanley – Dittmar

Thomas Stenberg – Assurance

Brian Erlandsen – BGIA

Danielle Voda – Fairview

Michael O'Connell – POA

Rob Smith - NIP

Stephen Marks – Kearny

Diana Pursell – Borden Perlman

Jeremy Solomon – Bob Smith & Assoc.

Keith Larkin - BGIA

Robin Racioppi – NAIMC

Karen Waters - IMAC